Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Other Products and Services

Reply
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-01-2019
Accepted Solution

live chat

Does live chat ever open?

 

I constantly see:

 

Give us a moment

We're just checking to see if there's an available agent.

 

How many moments should I wait? It's been like it all day today.

Posts: 88,630
Topics: 536
Solutions: 11,502
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: live chat

@weejoe you need to try a different browser. IE or Firefox seem to be working OK.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-01-2019

Re: live chat

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the tip!

 

 

Is there a direct link to live chat?

Posts: 88,630
Topics: 536
Solutions: 11,502
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: live chat

I just use the link from here http://www.o2.co.uk/contactus
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-01-2019

Re: live chat

Actually getting same in Firefox:

 

Give us a moment

We're just checking to see if there's an available agent.

 

 

Posts: 88,630
Topics: 536
Solutions: 11,502
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: live chat

Try IE and Edge.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-01-2019

Re: live chat

Edge worked!!! Thank you!!!!

Posts: 88,630
Topics: 536
Solutions: 11,502
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: live chat

Good news Smiley Happy
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-01-2019

Re: live chat

Hi , just received my new xs iPhone today, set up went great but just found a new standard/ micro/ nano sim in the bag which I now remember asking for.  However I've set up by putting in my sim from old phone. The sim I only got last June 2017. Should I swap it to the new one ?

is it a case of a simple swap or a set up again?

 

thanks Calum 

Posts: 88,630
Topics: 536
Solutions: 11,502
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: live chat

@Calum no need to use the new SIM. Just keep it as a spare if yours fails at anytime.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)