Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Apple

Reply
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: No data abroad in Europe

We went to France the day the cap was moved coincidentally and it hasn't worked since. A visit to an O2 shop there was a waste of time. They told me to sort it out back in the UK but of course it all works fine there.

Posts: 88,183
Topics: 532
Solutions: 11,378
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: No data abroad in Europe

It's the wrong data package....
What is your apn?
iData or mobile?
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: No data abroad in Europe

idata
Posts: 88,183
Topics: 532
Solutions: 11,378
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: No data abroad in Europe

Try temporarily changing it to mobile.o2.co.uk
It's a letter o not the number 0
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Posts: 70,190
Topics: 547
Solutions: 3,426
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: No data abroad in Europe

You need to check in My O2 to see if you have the idata bolt on. If not customer service will change it or you could change the apn to mobile.o2.co.uk 

Level 2: Apprentice
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-02-2017

Re: No data abroad in Europe

OK, did your visual voicemail work?

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: No data abroad in Europe

OMG that's worked! Do I keep it on that while abroad and change back to idata when back in the UK? How weird - any idea why this works?? Thanks so much

Posts: 88,183
Topics: 532
Solutions: 11,378
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: No data abroad in Europe

The reason is because of the wrong data apn on your account.
Leave it as it is as you are abroad but when you get home, call customer services and ask them to put you on iData, then change the apn back.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: No data abroad in Europe

Will do. Thank you so much clap

Posts: 70,190
Topics: 547
Solutions: 3,426
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: No data abroad in Europe

When you get back you need to change your data bolt on to idata and change the apn back to idata.o2.uk so that all features such as visual voicemail work.

The reason it is working now is that you have the standard data bolt on and you now have the correct apn for that particular bolt on.

Wrong bolt ons usually happen when upgrading or changing tariff or going from android to an iPhone. Hopefully you can now enjoy your time overseas roaming like home grin