Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's
Highlighted
Anonymous

Insurance-less!

Wondering if anyone could help me as Im not tech savvy at all!

Yesterday my boyfriend dropped my Nokia n95 into a cup of tea and its now completely messed up.
wont switch on or anything...

I'm a pay monthly customer and my contract doesnt end until September
I dont think i have insurance, so what shoud i do?

I was wondering if i could upgrade my contract, and have the new contract for another 18 months? Thank you in advance! :robotsad: :robotindifferent:
Highlighted
Anonymous

Insurance-less!

You can upgrade your tariff at any time (£30 to £35 for example) but you don't get another handset, as your original term stands.

You would only be eligable for a new handset in the last month of your original term (August in your case).

If you have no accident insurance for your phone, your only recourse would be to have it repaired (which would probably be costly), or just buy a cheap handset until August.

SV
Highlighted
Anonymous

Insurance-less!

Thanks very much x
Highlighted
Anonymous

Insurance-less!

If you haven't got insurance, take the phone apart as much as you can, wipe down with a clean dry cloth and put it somewhere for at least 3 days to dry out, don't attempt to turn it on.

Water doesn't damage electrics at all, its passing a current through it when its wet that does the damage. You could submerge a tv in a bath and so long as you dry it out it will be fine I know you've tried turning it on but it might be worth a try.

Its less likely to be revived if it had sugar in the tea though because it sticks to all the circuits
Highlighted
Anonymous

Insurance-less!

If you follow wanty's advice and dismantle the phone to try and dry it up, be careful with the camera assembly, as this component of the n95 cannot be re-assembled once it has been removed!
Highlighted
Anonymous

Insurance-less!