Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Pay As You Go

Reply
Level 3: Thinker
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎08-01-2019
Accepted Solution

Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

[ Edited ]

As I'm (currently) on PAYG, I understand that my SIM will not register on a Lao network (contract SIMs do...)

Since I'll only be there for a few days, as part of a trip to Thailand (where PAYG does work), and I will be staying in the capital, Vientiane, which is very close to Thailand (the Mekong river is the border, and the hostel is close to that), my question is whether anyone here has experience of using a Thai network in Vientiane.

I did get away with this with Virgin some years back, when they didn't serve Laos at all.

If not, this may well be the time to change to contract ? Crazy

 

I have no need for data

Using P-Smart ( O2 ), E-1182 ( dtac + Toggle )
Level 63: Greatness Assured
Posts: 12,119
Registered: ‎31-03-2010

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

The expert here on all things Thai is @jonsie. Hopefully he can answer your query.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Level 3: Thinker
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎08-01-2019

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

Have changed to contract, so phone should now register on networks in both countries, however.....the O2 Travel Bolt-on (£4.99/day) is only available in Thailand, so the original question remains 🇹🇭🇱🇦😬, I guess
Using P-Smart ( O2 ), E-1182 ( dtac + Toggle )
Posts: 67,794
Topics: 544
Solutions: 3,363
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

Make sure your phone is unlocked before you go then if necessay, you can get a local sim. The original question can't be answered by members because this hasn't been tried and tested by any of us.

It's a matter of trying it yourself and please update the thread  after.

Have a great trip rainbow

Level 3: Thinker
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎08-01-2019

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

Good advice - I usually use a dtac sim in another (small, old) phone as a data hotspot - it works out at 99 Baht a week Bouncy

On this trip, as I'm keen not to accidentally use Lao data on O2 (about £7 a Meg), I'll probably stick with that..

I will however check the cross-border roaming situation as a matter of interest

Using P-Smart ( O2 ), E-1182 ( dtac + Toggle )
Level 3: Thinker
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎08-01-2019

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

Research trip commences in 2 days....

At least none of the  (six) flights are on a 737 Max Fantastic

Now all I need is a pub to "Stumble Inn" to.. beers

Using P-Smart ( O2 ), E-1182 ( dtac + Toggle )
Community Manager
Posts: 4,456
Registered: ‎18-04-2018

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

How exciting @ProjectionistBouncy

 

I hope it all goes well, and drop back in when you can to let us know how you are! I'm always partial to some travelling photos as well, so if you have any good ones our off-topic section is always open - we even have a thread dedicated to members' best photos!

Community highlights:
Access for You: Registration - Find out how to register for our Access for You service.
Gig tickets giveaway!! Smiley Wink Interested in any O2 Academy gig? Let us know for a chance to get free tickets!
Priority gig tickets calendar - Check out the latest tickets available on Priority!
Instant Winners is back! - Enter the weekly prize draw every Friday!


If you'd like to take part, why not register? Smiley Happy
signature

Highlighted
Level 3: Thinker
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎08-01-2019

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

Thai roaming does work (near river, which is border) - but since a Lao sim is around £1-ish it's pointless.
Using P-Smart ( O2 ), E-1182 ( dtac + Toggle )
Posts: 67,794
Topics: 544
Solutions: 3,363
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos


@Projectionist wrote:
Thai roaming does work (near river, which is border) - but since a Lao sim is around £1-ish it's pointless.

Thanks for the update and it's handy to know. But as you say, cost wise for a local sim is amazingly low which is why I would always go for a local sim.

Level 3: Thinker
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎08-01-2019

Re: Thai network in Vientiane, Laos

Final post on this !

 

As research goes, I guess that not much was learnt, but I did witness a bank robbery in Laos, (opposite hotel - guy was chased and caught), and a fist fight at Bangkok's main railway station on election day...all very entertaining rofl

 

Note to self : Elections in Thailand are preceded by 24 hr periods of no alchohol sales ( 7-Elevens seems very busy just before beers )

Using P-Smart ( O2 ), E-1182 ( dtac + Toggle )