Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Pay As You Go

Reply
Highlighted
Posts: 104,305
Topics: 552
Solutions: 13,492
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Mobile Broadband set up on a new Huawei 4g dongle - Help!

It's not essential.
You can just login to the router directly.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-04-2016

Re: Mobile Broadband set up on a new Huawei 4g dongle - Help!

[ Edited ]

I would be grateful if anyone else could comment.

 

As it stands, I have purchased, from o2, a 4g dongle with a 5GB pre loaded sim card. I have activated the SIM card on the o2 site and inserted it correctly into the dongle.

 

When I insert the dongle into the laptop, it just opens up 2 identical internet windows, which are http://192.168.3.1 This is the home page for the Huawei mobile broadband software (i presume). There's no mention of o2 connection manager anywhwere. 

 

In 'This PC' in Windows 10, the dongle appears as USB, drive: E, however when I try to open this, it just says insert a disc into usb drive (E). I am not able to open the drive to see if o2 connection manager is installed. If there are any other ways to open the device, please let me know.

 

 

Highlighted
Posts: 104,305
Topics: 552
Solutions: 13,492
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Mobile Broadband set up on a new Huawei 4g dongle - Help!


@Horizon wrote:

I would be grateful if anyone else could comment.


That's fine.

I'll leave you to it then.

But as it's not working as it should you need to try it on a different PC and if faulty, take it back.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Posts: 89,901
Topics: 745
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Mobile Broadband set up on a new Huawei 4g dongle - Help!

i can't help at all @Horizon.

I have two Huawei dongles which I bought from Amazon unlocked to any network. I use a Three sim in mine and there was absolutely no problem with set up and use. 

I have never experienced any of the problems you are having Smiley Sad.

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-04-2016

Re: Mobile Broadband set up on a new Huawei 4g dongle - Help!

[ Edited ]

Hi Cleoriff, out of interest do you use any network provider software or just the Huawei software that came on the dongle?

 

Mine has just kicked into life (woo hoo) using the Huawei software. 4G connection working fine but burning through the data for no apparent reason but that's one for another day. As I've described above, the o2 connection manager software was not loaded nor is it available on the dongle as far as I can see. I gather this is useful software for receiving text messages and other account maintenance etc, which isn't possible on the Huawei branded software.

 

I do wonder if mine was supplied without being "flashed" by o2 (I gather this is the correct term?). o2 are hopeless at providing a downloadable version of connection manager anywhere. There are only guides online, and in any case there is nothing relating to the Huawei E3372 which is what o2 have sent me (I just ordered the Huawei 4G dongle from the o2 shop, didn't know the model till it arrived).

 

So... I would like the o2 connection manager software, but I've no idea how it would interract with the Huawei connection software which appears to now be working ok.  I could do with talking to an o2 guru!

Highlighted
Posts: 89,901
Topics: 745
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Mobile Broadband set up on a new Huawei 4g dongle - Help!

[ Edited ]

@HorizonI didn't do anything with the dongle. Bought it...popped a Three PAYG (Internet with Legs) sim in...my PC autoconnected to the Three site and away I went.

The Dongle and Sim were both bought off Amazon.

(I was away from home last year for a while. Still in the UK but the WiFi was poor, hence the need for the dongle)

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker