Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loan Phone

Jiberson
Level 1: Joiner
  • 10 Posts
  • 2 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

I have sent my phone away for repair at an o2 shop and have a loan phone to use meanwhile. First off I had to leave a £25 deposit for a phone worth less than £20 which seems strange in all fairness. The second thing that bugs me is the fact that it has all of the texts and contacts from the last person that had the phone before me which all seem to be drug related. This I am not impressed about as there could be a lot of personal details on the phone and in those messages and if I found out someone could have all of my details after I gave the phone back I would be less than impressed.

I am no expert in law but I'm fairly sure that it contravenes the data protection act as you have provided me details of one of your customers names and contact numbers for them and their acquaintances.

Message 1 of 10
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

adamtemp64
Level 66: Unequalled
  • 16454 Posts
  • 312 Topics
  • 1316 Solutions

I would return to the store and ask for a fresh loan phone and get the store to check it has been reset.

If the current phone has criminal activity on it then o2 should hand it to the police as evidence of crimes.

iPhone 11 Pro 256gb on unlimited data
iPad Pro 12.9” 2020 256gb refresh o2 family discount
Apple Watch series 4
My first mobile was in 1995 a CM-R111 from sony on Cellnet.
Wincanton South Somerset (Full 4g 3G 2g indoor coverage) Remember we are all customers here not customer services

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 10
9 REPLIES 9

adamtemp64
Level 66: Unequalled
  • 16454 Posts
  • 312 Topics
  • 1316 Solutions

I would return to the store and ask for a fresh loan phone and get the store to check it has been reset.

If the current phone has criminal activity on it then o2 should hand it to the police as evidence of crimes.

iPhone 11 Pro 256gb on unlimited data