Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Other Products and Services

Reply
Highlighted
MDW
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-01-2019
Accepted Solution

Alpha Tagging

Hi,

 

I have an issue registering my Natwest banking app on my shiny new Galaxy S9 and they have suggested it is due to alpha tagging. They actually said I should get it turned off but having read other posts elsehwere I'm begging to think I should perhaps subscribe or permit NW to use alpha tagging.

 

My provider (Sky) appear to know nothing about this and so I've come here to O2 as the carrier.Can anyone advise/suggest a course of action.

 

Thanks

 

MDW

Posts: 88,641
Topics: 536
Solutions: 11,503
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Alpha Tagging

@Martin-O2 ?
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Posts: 73,522
Topics: 688
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Alpha Tagging

@MDW

I admit I had to look this up having no idea what alpha tagging was!

During my search, I noticed someone on the giffgaff community had exactly the same problem as you with their bank.

Have a look and see if this helps.

https://support.giffgaff.com/t5/Help-Support/Banking-App-Alpha-Tagging/td-p/19049756

*The Game Is On*


MDW
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-01-2019

Re: Alpha Tagging

Thanks - I saw that and read it but it was 'solved' by the bank admitting they had not done something. I've been on 5 lengthy chat sessions with 5 different support people at Natwest, the last one saying i should get my provider to disable akpha tagging ! So I'm not sure whats needed but just getting a suppor tline that knows anyhting about alpha tagging seem difficult.

 

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Alpha Tagging

Never heard of alpha tagging before. I assume this is exclusive to Android or Samsung?
Posts: 73,522
Topics: 688
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Alpha Tagging

[ Edited ]

@MDW

Did you see this link (also from giffgaff), showing you how to change your alpha tags?

That problem was marked as solved...

https://support.giffgaff.com/t5/Help-Support/changing-alpha-tags/td-p/18205365

https://www.messagemedia.com.au/products/alpha-tags

*The Game Is On*


Community Manager
Posts: 6,092
Registered: ‎18-02-2016

Re: Alpha Tagging

This is a new one for me to @MDW! Did you find the links provided by @Cleoriff helpful? If not let me know and I can ask our Guru team for assistance. wink

Access for You: Registration - Find out how to register for our Access for You service.
Want to chat with other fellow-minded members? Head to our Off-topic section for some interesting chit-chat.
Check out our Priority board for tickets & offers updates, and to discuss all things Priority-related!
Welcome to O2! - New to O2? Find out all you need to know to get started!


If you'd like to take part, why not register? Smiley Happy
signature

MDW
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-01-2019

Re: Alpha Tagging

No - the links given I had already found and didn't get me to a resolution. Any further help would be greatly appreciated.

 

Many thanks

Community Manager
Posts: 6,092
Registered: ‎18-02-2016

Re: Alpha Tagging

No problem @MDW! I'll drop you a PM to get a few details so the team can take a look at this and see what's going on. 

Access for You: Registration - Find out how to register for our Access for You service.
Want to chat with other fellow-minded members? Head to our Off-topic section for some interesting chit-chat.
Check out our Priority board for tickets & offers updates, and to discuss all things Priority-related!
Welcome to O2! - New to O2? Find out all you need to know to get started!


If you'd like to take part, why not register? Smiley Happy
signature

MDW
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-01-2019

Re: Alpha Tagging

Just to complete this. I changed my number and it worked first time. I think the issue was that I tried to install the app before changing my number on my bank profile. Despite multiple assurances from Natwest I beleive my orignal number had been added to a 'potential fraud list' and the activation code was therefore being blocked.

 

Resolved!

 

Thanks all

 

MDW