cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

caller ID is ON yet suddenly can't get thru to numbers which don't accept calls without caller ID

Winter
Level 1: Joiner
  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

Hi. I've been ringing my mother in USA on the same number for 25 years. The past couple months I have not been able to get through; instead I get an automated message saying "This number does not accept calls without caller ID." My caller ID is switched to ALWAYS ON in settings on my Samsung S10e!

I have searched and searched online for a solution but can find nothing beyong the usual instructions about how to switch on caller ID. It must be something beyond this that has made my phone number (which has never changed) suddenly unrecognisable to her number. She has not changed any settings on her phone plan, either.

Please, any advice? It's becoming distressing not being able to check in on my elderly mother. Would be very grateful for ideas leading to breakthrough!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 149586 Posts
  • 641 Topics
  • 28517 Solutions

@Winter 

Can't offer any suggestions as to why. Maybe something on the receiving network that has changed?

Does your number show up if you call a UK number? That would be an indication of which side has the problem.

However, if both you and your Mum download WhatsApp, you can call via the app for free as long as you have a data connection of some sort.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.
Please select the post that helped you best and mark as the solution. This helps other members in resolving their issues faster. Thank you.
Message 2 of 8

Winter
  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions