cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iPhone unlocking on a budget

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi everyone,

I've recently bought a second-hand iPhone 6 for £55, and upon replacing the cracked and beaten up LCD and back panel, it looks brand new! It does have the notorious "searching" issue, however, so only time will tell how long I can actually use it as a phone for.

Here is my question: I'd like to unlock it from O2, since I'm already in a contract elsewhere. The thing is, looking at O2's help page, I need to use a PAYG SIM for 1 year, topping up £20 before using £15 on an unlocking fee. Not only is the prohibitively awkward and expensive, but there is every opportunity that I could loose cellular function altogether.

I'm a student, so money is very right (that's why I buy second-hand), and I'd also like to use the phone as soon as possible. I believe the previous owner had the phone on contract with O2, but they haven't responded to my requests to help me unlock it.

I understand that unlocking can incur admin costs, but Vodafone and Three, etc, do it for free online. O2 is missing a trick here. Is there any other way I can unlock this phone?

Thank you!

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 144168 Posts
  • 634 Topics
  • 27624 Solutions

@Anonymous wrote:
Just to point out the phone needs to be used on O2 for 12 months if it was purchased as Pay & Go if you bought it off someone that had it on contract you can unlock it straight away. Buy a classic sim with £20 credit £15 for the unlocking fee £5 to make some calls so it registers on the network and you are good to go. But all above is only if it was purchased as contract or purchased as Pay & Go more than 12 months ago.

Yes, that's all in the help guide but iPhones are excluded from the 12 month rule.