Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Talk Talk Stolen Data

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122764 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7463 Solutions

Talk Talk have admitted that some customers accounts have been 'hacked'.

The information stolen included names, addresses, phone numbers and TalkTalk account numbers. The company was confident that no sensitive or payment data went astray in the hack.

The theft of data was unearthed when TalkTalk investigated a sudden rise in complaints from customers about scam calls between October and December 2014  'Only a few thousand accounts were affected'!!

It made interesting reading to see Talk Talk admitting that the attackers got at some of TalkTalk's internal systems via a third-party that also had access to its network. Legal action is now being taken against this unnamed third party.

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-31656613

I am no expert....but does this ring warning bells with anyone? slight_frown

Veritas Numquam Perit

Girl in a jacket
Message 1 of 51
50 REPLIES 50

Anonymous
Not applicable
@Beenherebefore has a point and clarification is needed.

Carphone Warehouse used to own Talk Talk and set up the mobile mvno.

Today Talkmobile is CPW and TalkTalk Mobile is from TalkTalk.

Apologies for the misleading info above
Message 11 of 51

Anonymous
Not applicable

As somebody who works in computer security, I am becoming sick and tired of hearing these almost daily reports in the media about companies being "hacked", and the pathetic excuses they give afterwards.

Let me tell you that it is NOT at all difficult, relatively speaking, in a corporate environment, to protect against 99.999% of "hacking" attempts.

If, (and only if), a company is specifically targetted by a powerful group, (government agency, or the like), do I have any sympathy with them.  That is the 0.001% which is virtually impossible to defend yourself against.