Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Android

Reply
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-05-2014

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

Yes - just to clarify I have the 'location' option turned on. I get an approximate location using mobile/wifi but nothing exact enough to be GPS.
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-05-2014

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

MI5 - I've just tried updating my software through LG Bridge and it tells me I have the latest version so I assume it's looking for a network-locked version. Do you know anywhere I can find an unbranded LG software version?

Thanks
Highlighted
Posts: 104,515
Topics: 552
Solutions: 13,541
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

The best place to try would be on XDA.
Just make sure you get the correct model code.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-05-2014

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

Does the version linked on this page look correct as far as you know?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g5/how-to/h850-v10d-available-t3392268

"v10d OPEN EUR version" -- I assume in this case EUR includes UK?
Highlighted
Posts: 104,515
Topics: 552
Solutions: 13,541
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

Looks to be the correct one but I'm not in a position to try it to confirm.
Open EUR will be fine to use in UK though. Are you locked to O2 network as I know Sammy phones need unlocking before flashing, not sure about LG ones though.....
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-05-2014

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

Understood. Good question about being locked - I have the phone directly from O2 so it may very well be locked, is there a code I can type in to check this that you know of?

Thank you again for all your input here - really appreciated.
Highlighted
Posts: 104,515
Topics: 552
Solutions: 13,541
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

I'm not sure if this works but it's the old service mode entry for any LG phone
*#546368#*xxx#
where xxx = device variant, e.g. 850 for the international unlocked version (H850)
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-05-2014

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

That has indeed loaded a HiddenMenu - I'll have a dig around to try and find the relevant option.
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-05-2014

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

Right, so, I've put myself on v10d as that was fairly simple to do, but I'm still not getting anything from my GPS. I've even tried the GPS Test option within the HiddenMenu accessed through your suggested code and I'm not getting anywhere... which is making me think this might be a hardware issue. Do you know how I proceed with this?
Highlighted
Posts: 104,515
Topics: 552
Solutions: 13,541
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: LG G5 GPS - not finding any satellites

I'd say you have tried and tested everything and proven it to be hardware related, so my next stop would be to give LG a call http://www.lg.com/uk/support/contact/telephone
and I would certainly be sending it to them directly for a repair rather than O2.
Give them a call as they might have some ideas that we haven't thought of.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)