Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection drops during download...

rpw54
Level 1: Joiner
  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

I've been using O2 mobile broadband for about 5 years at 3 different locations. I've just moved and the service is now poor despite having good signal strength. Download speeds of around 2-3Mbps, upload is faster at around 6Mbps.

The specific problem is that during download of a, not very big (c.200MB), file the connection keeps dropping. My router will recover but it makes for an frustrating experience. Anything I can do to improve the resilience ?

Message 1 of 7
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Bambino
Level 85: Esteemed
  • 23669 Posts
  • 1041 Topics
  • 3752 Solutions

@rpw54 Have you tried Pay & Go sims from any other providers? As you've recently moved you may get  better coverage from one of them.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2

Funniest-Thread-2

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 7
6 REPLIES 6

madasaf1sh
Level 77: Grand Master
  • 10895 Posts
  • 60 Topics
  • 3121 Solutions

@rpw54 

Your only option is to look at options such as an external aerial that can be used to enhance the signal strength, 

It could be that the mast you are connected to is either in a congested area.

Have a look at these guides Guide: How can I sort out my network issues? 

--
iPhone 15 Pro Max - o2 and Spusu
Xperia 1V - Spusu

--
This is not customer services and we dont have access to your account
I do not work for o2 or any VMo2 /Telefonica/Liberty Global Company
Message 2 of 7

japitts
Level 6: Acolyte
  • 153 Posts
  • 0 Topics
  • 3 Solutions

@rpw54 wrote:

I've just moved and the service is now poor despite having good signal strength.

The specific problem is that during download of a, not very big (c.200MB), file the connection keeps dropping.. Anything I can do to improve the resilience ?