Did you mean: 

Data abroad

Billin
Level 1: Joiner
  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions
Please help,

I’m now living abroad and as a result have an 02 SIM card and a 3rd party SIM card I’ve been using for 2 months. I just received a Bill with a lot of payable data usage but my o2 SIM card has not been in the phone for 7 weeks. Can anyone tell me what setting I need to change to stop this? My provider is showing as being my days provider and network provider so it’s not that..

Thanks

Callum
Message 1 of 6
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122832 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7467 Solutions

@Billin 

You don't say where you are abroad or how long you have been there?

Nor what 3rd party sim you are using?

O2 have a policy of using  your phone abroad for more than 63 days in a 4 month period will be classed as overusage. https://www.o2.co.uk/roamfairuse  This applies to any roaming in any country.

You will then be charged at standard roaming rates, applicable to the country you are in.

The best thing to do is buy a local sim and use that.

Remove the O2 and 3rd party sim from the phone completely.  

Use Wifi wherever possible.

If you want to dispute any usage you can call O2 on any number in this guide Guide: Coronavirus Community Help and Support 

Veritas Numquam Perit

Girl in a jacket

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 6
5 REPLIES 5

Cleoriff
  • 122832 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7467 Solutions

@Billin 

You don't say where you are abroad or how long you have been there?

Nor what 3rd party sim you are using?

O2 have a policy of using  your phone abroad for more than 63 days in a 4 month period will be classed as overusage. https://www.o2.co.uk/roamfairuse  This applies to any roaming in any country.

You will then be charged at standard roaming rates, applicable to the country you are in.

The best thing to do is buy a local sim and use that.

Remove the O2 and 3rd party sim from the phone completely.