• 3674 Solutions

Emojis.jpg

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2

Funniest-Thread-2
Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Cleoriff ... regarding latin being a 'dead' language ... I studied it at senior school for 2 years & would have liked to have studied it to 'O' level ... it did help my 'English Language' ... but ... when choosing my options in the 4th year it just didn't fit in with my other subject priorities ... maybe I can study it online sometime

Message 11 of 19

Glory1
Level 43: Bright Spark
  • 10294 Posts
  • 85 Topics
  • 123 Solutions

@Anonymous wrote:

Interesting @Bambino & those posts above  ^  ^  ^ ... I hadn't thought of it like that before ... but ... you're right ... I text generally in order to be made understood eg I find it difficult to read when people use i for I & say tommo for tomorrow & c u  as in see you ... to me it shows the quality or lack of education, but I do use eg att = at the / that time & atm = at the moment & aka = also known as & an old one from my office days:- asap = as soon as possible or pdq = pretty damn quick as the shop floor foremen would say ... I do use emoji rainbow

Well as I've admitted above I use text speak, as do most of my friends but purely for speed as I get and reply to loads of messages. More through Whatsapp but through SMS as well - not everyone has or wants a smartphone. I have a few friends who use their phones purely to phone and text nothing else.

I think I had a pretty good education, even if it was in America. But it has been nearly 55 years since I graduated high school and education standards have changed both here and in the States.

I feel I can, and do, communicate quite well and make myself understood @Anonymous whether in text speak or full, correct, Queen's English. Certainly, I've had no misunderstandings from my friends whichever format I use to communicatesmile