cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VAT on Device Plan

Anonymous
Not applicable
I have a Device Plan for my iPhone 7 at £25 a month. Is there VAT in that amount that my company can claim back? O2 Live Chat say no VAT is charged. This means my Co would have been a lot better off asking me to buy the phone outright where the VAT is charged and reclaimable. Confused
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 145210 Posts
  • 635 Topics
  • 27887 Solutions
VAT is included in the overall credit price of the device.
When you pay an installment you are paying a small amount of VAT along with a proportion of the credit cost each month. These are not listed separately on your monthly bill.
I'm no expert on VAT, but I believe you cannot claim the total VAT portion back until you have paid the total cost completely.
Once the credit agreement is settled you will get a statement which lists the total amount paid, VAT breakdown and monthly payments received.
This is, I believe, when you can claim the VAT but you would be better off speaking to your accounts manager or get advise from an accountant.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
Pixel 7a (O2 & Lyca), One Plus 6 (Sfr), iPhone 12 Pro Max (Vodafone)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Message 2 of 6

Wa10
Level 19: Quirky
  • 418 Posts
  • 32 Topics
  • 29 Solutions

I'd possibly disagree with you there @MI5....ooh, feeling brave today, haha!