cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iphone 5 Data Problem E and 3G

Anonymous
Not applicable

I am a newbie to the iPhone 5, having took a contract out last week i have been pulling my hair out and before i return the phone back and potential end my agreement under the 14 day cooling off period i thought i would ask or share my problem here.

Now i can make calls etc no problem, ica n use wifi no problem, but i sturggle to use any data services at all and today has been the icing on the cake for me.

The phone displays 3G and for most of the time it seems slow but ok, but when the phone displays E which is does where i live, i get no data at all the data dial (spining dots) come on and goes around and around but nothing, normally with an error (Cannot connect to store etc)

So is this normal? 

Is it my local cell site?

Is it the phone that defective?

SIM Faulty? (Unlikely)

Any ideas? Going grey....and tried of trying to fix something that is supposed to "just work!"

I have checked all settings, reset , rebooted the phone etc and the same fault appears...

Any help is very much apprciated, i bought 2 of these for my wife and myself.

Thanks

Message 1 of 13
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Bambino
Level 84: Resplendent
  • 22942 Posts
  • 1022 Topics
  • 3662 Solutions

@Anonymous wrote:

Replaced my handset and its now working a great deal better, but i still dont get any data when the E is displayed?

If your phone is only displaying E for data, you won't get much, if any coverage. This thread should explain it to you if you're not familiar with it:

http://community.o2.co.uk/t5/Pay-Monthly-and-Pay-Go/What-is-2G-3G-and-4G/m-p/286204#M26411

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2

Funniest-Thread-2

View solution in original post

Message 10 of 13
12 REPLIES 12

Liquid
Level 44: Clearly Talented
  • 5942 Posts
  • 98 Topics
  • 305 Solutions
Wierd I presume your data connections have been fine for other phones?

What are your APN settings?