Did you mean: 

International Jazz Day 2022 🎶🎷🎵

lewys-gp
Former Staff
  • 921 Posts
  • 89 Topics
  • 1 Solutions

Hey everyone!

I just thought I would do a short post to commemorate International Jazz Day (tomorrow) on the community.

Admittedly, I am no jazz expert. Between watching J.K. Simmons throw a cymbal at Miles Teller's head and some modern jazz songs, I think I know a little bit about the genre.

I had a quick look on Priority tickets to see if I could find any tickets on sale for jazz musicians, but except for CoN & wAkE and St. Panther, all I could see were pretty much heavy metal bands 😅. And even though the artists I mentioned aren't necessarily jazz, in the production of their music, you can definitely hear the influence of the genre.

But, there has definitely been a revitalisation of jazz in recent years. I enjoy the music of Tom Misch, Ezra Collective, Alfa Mist and Kokoroko. There's a lot of rap music now that marries up with jazz music too. BADBADNOTGOOD are often doing collaborations with hip hop (and other) artists.

I guess that even though I'm not a jazz purist, I realise how important its place is in music! Some may agree, some may disagree 😉. But, thought it would be worthwhile creating a topic for this day. 

And to end, even though I'm a day early, on this day jazz legend Duke Ellington was born (1899). Here's a quote from him:

"A problem is a chance for you to do your best."

That's all. Any jazz recommendations? Stories? If so, get them in the comments below.

Have a jazzy weekend alllllllllllllllllll 🎶🎷🎵.

Community Manager for the O2 Community 🙂
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5

pgn
Level 74: Whizz kid
  • 35918 Posts
  • 228 Topics
  • 1589 Solutions

Loads going on up in the far Northwest currently, between 28-Apr and 02-May-2022 in this regard too: 

http://cityofderryjazzfestival.com/jazz-hubs/

Screenshot_20220430-073409.png

Message 2 of 6

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122901 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7468 Solutions