Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Usage - charge for monthly surplus

grahambute
Level 1: Joiner
  • 13 Posts
  • 4 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

I am new to o2 and 2 weeks ago started using a Nokia Lumia 520. I chose the tariff carefully because it reflected my use over the last 2 years, and as my average use of data was less than 40mb per month I chose a tariff giving 100mb per month.

Today after 2 weeks with O2 I got a message saying I had used 80% of my months data allowance already. I am retired and not a great user of mobile phone to surf the internet, and in any case my phone has been set to access wi-fi at all times. I was worried that I might have set myself up for getting unplanned bills for extra data use so contacted Customer Services, who put me through to the Network Checkers.

They have shown me how I can see daily analysis of my data usage, BUT said in any case we do not charge you if you go over your allowance. I would like to know whether this is really true, if it is why do O2 market plans with set data usage?

My experience with O2 so far has been a bit worrying and I am starting to wonder if I should have stayed with 3.

Message 1 of 7
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Anonymous
Not applicable

Settings, Mobile Network or Cellular, Data Connection, select Off or On as required.

You can limit your data usage by turning off mobile data. You'll then not be able to access the internet using the mobile network. You can still use Wi-Fi even though mobile data is turned off.

1. Find "mobile network"

• Slide your finger left on the display.
  • Press Settings.
  • Press mobile network.

2. Turn mobile data on or off

• Press the field below "Data connection".
  • Press on or off.

3. Return to the home screen

• Press the Home key to return to the home screen.

Nokia Link : http://www.nokia.com/gb-en/support/product/lumia520/userguidance/?action=singleTopic&topic=GUID-4F79...

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 7
6 REPLIES 6