Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Pay Monthly

Reply
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎18-02-2019
Accepted Solution

Using phone aboard

How do I get my phone ready for use in Spain ?
Posts: 88,503
Topics: 533
Solutions: 11,465
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Using phone aboard

[ Edited ]

@Liza You shouldn't need to do anything but might be worth calling just to make sure you are all set up OK.

https://community.o2.co.uk/t5/How-to-Guides/EU-Roaming-Changes-from-15th-June-2017-CONTRACT-ONLY-quo...

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Posts: 88,503
Topics: 533
Solutions: 11,465
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Using phone aboard

Sorry, meant to say calling customer services on 202.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎18-02-2019

Re: Using phone aboard

I've spoken to them they just said to turn on data roaming.is that all I need to do I have a contract phone .
Posts: 73,206
Topics: 688
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Using phone aboard

[ Edited ]

@Liza

Yes that's all you need to do. There is plenty of WiFi in Spain...make use of that when you can to ensure you dont go over your allowances.

The network of choice is Movistar. Your phone should connect automatically to that when you land.

Have  a great holiday and welcome to the forum Welcome

*The Game Is On*


Posts: 88,503
Topics: 533
Solutions: 11,465
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Using phone aboard

Yeah that's assuming you have international usage turned on which you should have if purchased directly from O2.
Also, if you have an iPhone you may need to check your data tariff is correct, which only customer services can confirm.
But in all normal situations, you don't need to do anything except use as normal and stay within your allowances.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone7 (EE)