cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Come on O2 - sort it out - Phantom data charges DESPITE data roaming AND mobile data selected OFF!

RickD
Level 1: Joiner
  • 12 Posts
  • 2 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

OK, now come on O2. Let me challenge you to once and for all put an end to this ridiculous state of affairs. I have travelled worldwide for over 25 years so know the ins and outs of using my decive abroad just in case you think I'm a complete mobile phone tech numpty! Current device Samsung S8, all software up to date etc etc.

BEFORE I depart the UK I switch data roaming off AND mobile data. However when I return to the UK from my trip (usually a few days away each time) I have been billed for "data charges whilst roaming"when the data roaming and mobile data have remained off the entire time. All data usage has been via hotel wifi only.

Worst culprits - South Korea and India

Occasionally the charges are for only a few KB of data so literally a few pence (still annoying) but at other times I get charged for MB of data. I say again...this is all with data roaming AND mobile data selected OFF from before I leave the UK.

Some suggestions on this forum have mentioned switching the phone to airplane mode when abroad but I need to be able to take incoming calls if they're urgent (in which case I accept that I will get charged for accepting those). For the avoidance of all doubt I've taken NO calls during the times when I have been charged for data.

So what on earth is going on? This topic has been discussed for many many years on this forum and also in the UK press. O2 appear to be the worst offenders but other UK mobile operators seem to be guilty of this phantom charging too.