cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie: Like the features but why does O2 email passwords

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am a newbie O2 customer.
I like the possibilities of bluebook, the forum etc.

However. I noticed to my dismay that O2 starts emailing readable paswords all over the place. I think that is very bad practice.

http://www.thebitmill.com/articles/password_email.html and many others agree.

Can something be done about this??????
Message 1 of 25
24 REPLIES 24

Anonymous
Not applicable
The articles just seem to generally have somebodies point of view. Surely there must be more of a reason to feel they shouldn't do this than other peoples opinion of bad practice? The last article doesn't mention that any security conscious people should change their email after forgetting it, like you would if you did a plain password reset. I personally prefer emails sent to me with the password on the odd occasion I do forget it and have the choice to change it etc.
Message 21 of 25

Anonymous
Not applicable

b. You do not explain why you want to argue that it is necessary to send passwords

I note you apparently glazed over my post which explained perfectly well the reason for this.

http://www.thebitmill.com/articles/password_email.html

Let's face it, this brief little bit of "information" is a joke, right? Reset the password and use the phone to get the new password? How is that even remotely sane, let alone sensible, let alone better than having it emailed?
An emailed password sent by an automated system is sent automatically, ie no human sees the password. If you get a new password assigned over the phone, at least one person knows it, the person who gave it to you. Thats an instant definite guaranteed person that knows the password, compared to the vague laughably tiny chance that someone might possibly maybe perhaps get the password from your email account.