cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are O2 shops bound by the Disability Discrimination Act?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Topic.

I am a disabled adult with several years of retail experience and NVQs in retail, yet whenever I've applied to work in O2 stores in Sheffield, and been honest enough to declare my disability, my application clearly gets binned as I never hear back from the potential employer.

I admit I have no direct sales experience though, only charity shop till work and stock room duties, is this why I'm not getting the jobs?

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 144653 Posts
  • 634 Topics
  • 27730 Solutions
O2, just like any other employer, will be bound by the DDA.

Under the DDA, it is unlawful for employers to discriminate against people with disabilities for a reason related to their disability, in all aspects of employment, unless this can be justified.

Obviously this means that certain disabilities may be excluded from certain work aspects / environments but it is the employers responsibility to prove / justify if challenged.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
Pixel 7a (O2 & Lyca), One Plus 6 (Sfr), iPhone 12 Pro Max (Vodafone)
Message 2 of 11

Anonymous
Not applicable

I get that, I just don't see that even my disabilities, which include being deaf, having back problems, limited mobility and Asperger's syndrome (a mild form of autism) should be such a barrier to my dream of working at least a 10-12 hour week for minumum wage or above, but everywhere I apply to, as soon as I declare that I have a disability, boom! I might as well not have gone to the effort of applying IMO.