Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just putting it out there....

jonsie
Level 94: Supreme
  • 93262 Posts
  • 609 Topics
  • 6984 Solutions

As much as I am proud of the men and ladies who saved this country and fought and died for us, personally, taking into consideration the recent tragic events, I'm thinking that we should stop these air displays and just go to admire the airplanes that were something to be marvelled at and thankful for, in the museums now.

I myself collected models of the Spitfire, Hurricanes, Lancaster bombers be it Airfix  models or silver statuettes and indeed still have a beautiful silver Spitfire ornament that I would never give away or sell. Every time I go to visit my son I gaze in awe of the massive Spitfire monument in Darwen though I have no knowledge of the role Darwen, Lancashire had in the manufacture of the fighter plane that saved this country. I can only think it serves as a reminder of the brave pilots that fought so valiantly for all of the UK.

To be honest, air displays are not safe these days. Every tragedy just brings it home how these brave men took their lives in hand every day to serve this country well. No more, enough people have died and fine aircraft lost forever. Never forget but go and pay respect in the museums. We don't need to see them flying or to see the public and young men risking their lives.

Maybe it's an age thing but as a son whose father flew these planes, I will never ever forget.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-kent-34174822

Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20

Cleoriff
  • 123405 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7476 Solutions

I agree that old planes should be admired in a museum @jonsie (or transported to airshows and put on ground display only)

Despite protestations from air experts that they are capable of flying and undertaking stunts, recent tragic events have proved otherwise.  I have been to many airshows. Sadly, I doubt I would want to go again....

Veritas Numquam Perit

Girl in a jacket