cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"All The Data You Need in Europe” - Yeah Right! (O2Travel)

Anonymous
Not applicable

OK, I am new to O2 and I have been pretty happy, that is until now.

As I travel abroad a lot, O2 Travel was one of the main reasons for me going with O2. What a mistake that now seems to be.

I fully understand the need to throttle bandwidth, but the throttling is so aggressive that I cannot even load 19 out of 20 webpages. I have read that the throttling limits your speed to 15Kbps. However, it is taking as long as 10 minutes to load a single webpage, including BBC mobile website pages.

Selling this as a service where you can use “All The Data You Need in Europe” is very, very misleading. As it stands, the service is totally unusable, even for the most basic tasks once throttling has kicked in.

In case anyone is wondering, I have tried both roaming partner networks where I am in Spain and both are the same. Other users in the same room on these networks are getting 18Mbps and 16Mbps respectively. Before the throttling kicks in, the service is very fast.

This is wrong to offer “All The Data You Need in Europe” and yet cripple the service to the point where it is for all intents and purposes very much a data limit.

Message 1 of 27
26 REPLIES 26

jonsie
Level 94: Supreme
  • 93248 Posts
  • 609 Topics
  • 6980 Solutions

@Cleoriff wrote:

@jonsie wrote:

Many people giving you advice have never been overseas. I know the problems and the way to get round them....

As you know @jonsie  I am not one of 'those people'. Fortunately for me I took the advice of yourself, MI5 and Bambino. My bills when I go abroad now are not much higher than when at home

I found my eureka moment with Wifi...and all the other apps that can be used...Bouncy

We are all here to help, some can help from experience @Cleoriff  and I count you amongst those.....

Message 21 of 27

Cleoriff
  • 122949 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7470 Solutions

Hug