cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"All The Data You Need in Europe” - Yeah Right! (O2Travel)

Anonymous
Not applicable

OK, I am new to O2 and I have been pretty happy, that is until now.

As I travel abroad a lot, O2 Travel was one of the main reasons for me going with O2. What a mistake that now seems to be.

I fully understand the need to throttle bandwidth, but the throttling is so aggressive that I cannot even load 19 out of 20 webpages. I have read that the throttling limits your speed to 15Kbps. However, it is taking as long as 10 minutes to load a single webpage, including BBC mobile website pages.

Selling this as a service where you can use “All The Data You Need in Europe” is very, very misleading. As it stands, the service is totally unusable, even for the most basic tasks once throttling has kicked in.

In case anyone is wondering, I have tried both roaming partner networks where I am in Spain and both are the same. Other users in the same room on these networks are getting 18Mbps and 16Mbps respectively. Before the throttling kicks in, the service is very fast.

This is wrong to offer “All The Data You Need in Europe” and yet cripple the service to the point where it is for all intents and purposes very much a data limit.

Message 1 of 27
26 REPLIES 26

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi MH100

You're not the first to bring this up 😔

Seems even though it's unlimited "There's no upper usage limit, but traffic management steps apply., " -> WiFi is always going to be a better alternative where it's available. 

Message 2 of 27

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 143435 Posts
  • 632 Topics
  • 27490 Solutions
A previous thread here http://community.o2.co.uk/t5/Discussions-Feedback/O2-Travel-is-utterly-pathetic-and-not-worth-the-mo...
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.