cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WECHAT - AVOID - Potential Safety Concerns !!

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 144416 Posts
  • 634 Topics
  • 27678 Solutions

Just received this emaill from my childs school.....

I have no knowledge of it myself but I will be looking into it........

Subject: E-SAFETY CONCERN - "WECHAT" 

Dear parents and carers

We have received an email from the Local Authority asking schools to pass on their concerns regarding an application called "WECHAT".

We understand that this application is free to download from the app store and that once a user has done so, they simply have to open it and shake their phone or device in order to connect with anyone else in the world who happens to be shaking their phone/device at the same time.  It has been reported that a child from another school has been sent an inappropriate image as a result of using this application. 

***** is addressing this with pupils  through our ICT curriculum lessons.  We are therefore bringing this to the attention of parents to make sure you are  aware of the risks associated with this particular application.

Kind regards

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
Pixel 7a (O2 & Lyca), One Plus 6 (Sfr), iPhone 12 Pro Max (Vodafone)
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13

Anonymous
Not applicable
Thank you for the heads up MI5.

Technology is not always our friend !

It is indeed in the App Store as a free download.
Message 2 of 14

Bambino
Level 84: Resplendent
  • 23093 Posts
  • 1026 Topics
  • 3676 Solutions

It's in the Google Play Store as well.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2

Funniest-Thread-2
Message 3 of 14

Anonymous
Not applicable
Can anyone see anything about the shaking the phone to connect to anyone else shaking their phone at the same time ?
Message 4 of 14

Anonymous