Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transferring existing number from Tesco Mobile to O2

BrianW
Level 1: Joiner
  • 1 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

I am new to O2.  I have just received my new sim (pay monthly) with its new number.  I will be using the same iPhone handset and want to keep my existing number, without loosing WhatsApp and text history ideally.  I have my existing Tesco Mobile sim PAC code, but I am unsure of what to do next in order to transfer smoothly and without loosing all my history.  I have backed up my iPhone, but want help with what to do next.

Message 1 of 3
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Enlli
Level 65: Ultra-cool
  • 6771 Posts
  • 50 Topics
  • 1509 Solutions

This guide should help you

Guide: Migration & porting into O2  

This is not O2 and we are all customers here similar to yourself and cannot answer account type queries.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 3
2 REPLIES 2

Enlli
Level 65: Ultra-cool
  • 6771 Posts
  • 50 Topics
  • 1509 Solutions

This guide should help you

Guide: Migration & porting into O2  

This is not O2 and we are all customers here similar to yourself and cannot answer account type queries.
Message 2 of 3

dreas
Level 1: Joiner
  • 10 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

One thing that isn't covered in the guide Enlli posted is data backup/migration as far as I could see.

Although WhatsApp is tied to a number which means you should be good to go if you follow that guide, as you don't want to risk losing your data I'd recommend backing it up regardless. Just be aware that backups can sometimes be a weak spot in your security. That doesn't ever stop me backing up, but I just make sure the backups are as secure as they can be.

Go to WhatsApp > tap More options  Settings > Chats > Chat backup > BACK UP.