cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Number port-in form is confusing, which number does the 1st page want?

dave559
Level 1: Joiner
  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

I have just joined O2 and want to port in my existing mobile number from my old network.

I have found the port-in form (not the easiest thing to find itself, even though it is likely to be one of the first things that an incoming customer is going to want to do):

https://www.o2.co.uk/help/device-and-sim-support/how-to-keep-your-mobile-number/online-form

However, the wording of the form is rather confusing:

The third field is "Your mobile number*": does this mean the number that I want to port in (my number from my old network), or does it mean my new (temporary) O2 number and the form will then ask for the number that I want to port in (to replace the O2 number) on the next page of the form?

(As a web developer, I would note that a form such as this should really have tool-tip help for each form field in case of any ambiguity, and should also have undergone usability testing as part of the development process, which would have flagged up where the process could be confusing or misleading.)

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 123063 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7472 Solutions

Hi @dave559 

It's the number you want to Port IN (your number from the other network) as that will be the number you want to keep.

Best of luck and welcome to the forum 😉

Veritas Numquam Perit

Girl in a jacket
Message 2 of 9

dave559
  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

Thanks for your advice.

It turns out (if it helps anyone else) that, after filling in the form, it has 3 pages:

1. I don't know if it actually makes any difference which number you give on page 1?
  2. The second page requests characters from your password.