Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5G Speed 1200mbps

rky_com
Level 2: Apprentice
  • 30 Posts
  • 5 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

I have used O2, I’m on unlimited data plan and my postcode covers 5G network and thus I have taken the contact.

When I do speed test then I get around 30mbps speed which I expect on 3G not on 5G with O2

I have another sim card from (Th***) network wherein on same device and same location I get 1200mbps speed in rare scenarios it goes down upto 900mbps which is also awesome on 5G

When I visited o2 website and made network complaint by filling form i always received sms saying in your area network is good and nothing as maintenance is going on and they close the ticket.

Is there anyone in O2 who can take the issue seriously that 30mbps vs 1200mbps is a big difference and if I’m getting 3 signal bars o2 can improve the network to make it 5 signal bars please.

I am new to O2 so any advise will be appreciated and if you can advise can I contact Ofcom for this issue if O2 is ignoring me?

Software Engineer

New O2 Customer since Dec 2022
Using - iPhone 14 Pro | Apple Watch | Pay Monthly O2 Sim
Message 1 of 7
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 144911 Posts
  • 635 Topics
  • 27776 Solutions

@rky_com 

There's no speed guarantee and your speeds are better than many others get.

It's all down to available bandwidth and number of users in the area.

OFCOM will do nothing and neither will O2 as the speed you are getting will be considered to be acceptable.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
Pixel 7a (O2 & Lyca), One Plus 6 (Sfr), iPhone 12 Pro Max (Vodafone)

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 7
6 REPLIES 6

MI5
  • 144911 Posts
  • 635 Topics
  • 27776 Solutions

@rky_com