cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Roaming charges so high with O2 bill pay?

Anonymous
Not applicable

A colleague and I have travelled to Ireland to work for 1 week. My colleague is a Vodafone bill pay customer and I am a O2 bill pay customer. We both have unlimited calls and texts on our tariffs, just different networks.

My colleague availed of Vodafone Euro traveller - Take your minutes, texts and internet abroad for £3 a day max.

I called O2 to get a similar deal and I was very disappointed to be told that the only option I have is;

-  £1.99 for the days that you use data in Europe (daily allowance of 15MB)

- When I make or receive calls there’s a connection charge of 50p, then it’s free to talk for up to 60 minutes.

As I work in the events industry, I will be receiving and making around 30 short 2 minute calls per day (guestimate). As it will be suppliers, my UK office and people onsite asking quick questions. So I made out the spend of my colleague and I to compare;

COLLEAGUE: Vodafone - £3 per day (Including all calls & internet)

ME: O2 - £15 (Based on 30 answered and received calls) + £1.99 internet = £16.99 per day

I think that this is outrageous value for money. There is a clear difference. I wish that I had known this before I signed up to O2 as I am a Irish person living in the UK and I go home quite regularly. 

Where is the value for money O2??? The is daylight robbery!!!!

When I spoke to O2 customer service representatives about this, all they could say to me to justify the cost was that I could talk for 60mins per call!! I don't know many people that make 60min calls on a daily basis.  

As an alternative, I am using a sim from a different network in a spare phone. This has kept the costs way down for me. It is a pity that I have had to resort to this when I really need my Iphone 5 for work! 😞

Message 1 of 13
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Anonymous
Not applicable