cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying new time: remaining time deleted?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Over the net I've just bought 3GB for my mobile broadband. I did that because I was told I had only 103MB left (and 10 days) of my old allowance remaining. However, when I look to see the time I have left now, after the purchase, it's only 3GB, not the 3.1GB you might expect. Is this normal? Should we therefore always use up the old allowance before buying any more? TIA
Message 1 of 6
1,045 Views
5 REPLIES 5

Anonymous
Not applicable
fraid so.....same happened to me, had 250mb left and it said "you are running low want to top-up" and when I( did I lost the 250mb that was left.

really they should warn you that this will happen as the wording on the main site makes u believe that it will be added when it's not.
Message 2 of 6
1,045 Views

perksie
Level 69: Guiding Light
  • 27019 Posts
  • 247 Topics
  • 1614 Solutions
Registered:
That doesn't sound right, have you queried this with O2?
To support Disasters Emergency Committee: http://www.dec.org.uk/appeals text Nepal to 70000 to send £5

Sky Unlimited Broadband - Windows 10 - Nexus 4 Android 5.1.1
Message 3 of 6
1,045 Views

Anonymous
Not applicable
I did try clicking on the 'contact us' link, but I get only a blank page. The link is at: http://www.o2.co.uk/broadband/mobile/
Message 4 of 6
1,045 Views

perksie
Level 69: Guiding Light
  • 27019 Posts
  • 247 Topics
  • 1614 Solutions
Registered:
Contact us at the bottom of the page works fine for me.

Try clearing your browser cache first.
To support Disasters Emergency Committee: http://www.dec.org.uk/appeals text Nepal to 70000 to send £5

Sky Unlimited Broadband - Windows 10 - Nexus 4 Android 5.1.1
Message 5 of 6
1,045 Views

Anonymous
Not applicable
Clearing the browser (in both Firefox and IE) didn't help in the short run but, for some reason, I was able to click on the link and contact O2 a couple of days ago, and they replied within 24 hours. They confirmed what I suspected:
After you've made a purchase, all remaining data is taken off the account.
The advice, then, is to use up all remaining data before buying more data. This is contrary to the usual practice when topping up ordinary mobile phones. I think O2 should include a warning to that effect, and will suggest so in my reply to them.
Message 6 of 6
1,045 Views