Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

M.R.S.A Resistance broken!

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122989 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7470 Solutions

I can't tell you how delighted I am to be posting this possible groundbreaking news.

At long last it seems the 'superbug' M.R.S.A (Methicillin Resistant Staphyloccus Aureus) has had it's resistance to antibiotics broken.....

Scientists in Merck Research Laboratories in USA have found that newly discovered chemical compounds can make MRSA bacteria vulnerable to the antibiotics they normally resist, restoring the old drug’s former powers.

It's complicated and needs more work but this is the first step that could address the global antibiotic resistance crisis.

https://www.newscientist.com/article/2080180-mrsa-superbugs-resistance-to-antibiotics-is-broken/

As a ward manager I experienced the effects of MRSA on patients and staff, subsequent ward closures and cancellation of theatre sessions.  Personally I feel like shouting thank god for science....:smileyhappy:

Veritas Numquam Perit

Girl in a jacket
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11

viridis
Level 56: Guvnor
  • 13532 Posts
  • 106 Topics
  • 309 Solutions
Wonderful news, finally getting an edge on this.
Message 2 of 12

viridis
Level 56: Guvnor
  • 13532 Posts
  • 106 Topics
  • 309 Solutions
It's plagued our health service for years now, a real worry for medical staff. I hope the success of beating it, continues to a widespread solution.
Message 3 of 12

jonsie
  • 93251 Posts
  • 609 Topics
  • 6980 Solutions

Groundbreaking indeed and this will be brilliant news for sufferers worldwide. 

Message 4 of 12

Cairdeas
Level 23: Casual Specs
  • 3570 Posts
  • 34 Topics
  • 2 Solutions

Oh wow! That is fantastic news @Cleoriff Happy Dance such a devastating bug ..so happy that they are getting the better of it at last! Some real medical progress lately. Kudos to all the scientists  x

giphy-3
Message 5 of 12

Curr946
Level 26: Upbeat
  • 2174 Posts
  • 133 Topics