cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What security features does O2 offer to protect against port-out scams?

yrtnadneP
Level 1: Joiner
  • 1 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

Hi! slight_smile

It's my first time in this 'community forum'. And my first impressions are:  what a totally appalling forum system/ website this is. Wake up, O2, this is the twenty-first century, you know!

Onward, to the purpose of my visit:

I've just read https://www.howtogeek.com/709373/why-sms-text-messages-arent-private-or-secure/ .

It explained about 'port-out scams', and suggested I contact my provider to see what security features they offer to protect against these.

I've searched the minimal information available on this site. The security advice I've been able to find here is generic and, honestly, full of pretty useless platitudes that seem to be aimed at those who haven't yet learned not to use the same password everywhere.

I did try the 'AI assistant'. But not for long. Give it some time and it might evolve into something with the intelligence of a slug.

Then I looked for an email address to compose a civil question. Couldn't find one. I did find a snail mail address. Seriously? No customer support by email? What planet is O2 living on?

And as you can perhaps imagine, by the time I got to this forum I was not in the best frame of mind.

Sorry for the rant. I've calmed down a bit, now.

If you know whether O2 offers anything to protect against port-out scams, I'd love to hear from you.

Have a lovely evening!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 143422 Posts
  • 632 Topics
  • 27489 Solutions

@yrtnadneP 

I'll ask @O2Waqas for advice on this......

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using: