cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not a new scam but the call forward scam is still being used

Anonymous
Not applicable
Not a new scam but one that causes endless problems and pain and one I wanted to make you all aware of.

On the 5th of September 2013 a fraudster rang O2 and setup a call forward on my account. How he managed to do this is a mystery as my memorable word "mothers maiden name" is not in fact her maiden name but one I made up specifically for my O2 account.

The 202 operator told me the fraudster knew the above word, hard to believe as it's only in my head. I'm not a stranger to fraud or identity theft given I'm an IT Professional in IT Security recently supporting a large insurance company previously supporting a bank. So as you might imagine my levels of security on my own systems and accounts are not the same as the average user.

Being required to follow extremely high levels of professionalism and security in your work rubs off, not only that but seeing the issues bad security causes others on a daily basis can be alarming. Thereby motivating you to practice sometimes extreme measures to protect yourself.

The said fraudster had arranged the call forward to receive a call back from my bank, he transferred £15,000 to an account in the USA. It turns out he knew a lot of things about my bank account, so much so that I can't help but wonder if it was an inside job. Now he may have found another way to perform his fraud but had my O2 account not been breached it may have slowed or stopped him in his tracks.

What is more worrying is both the banks and mobile operators are aware of this kind of fraud, which makes me wonder why they haven't implemented a simple second level of security ie text the registered user when a call forward is configured "Your number has just been forwarded to xxxxxx xxxxxx if this is correct reply 1 if not reply 9". Very simple to implement and a process already used by banks etc.