cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dedicated data sim - router dropping

Dazza3
Level 1: Joiner
  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions
Registered:

O2 data sim unlimited, Archer MR200 router keeps dropping. What is the APN, no-where does O2 state the settings. It will seemingly connect with any default profile but after an hour or so all devices say 'connected, no internet'

I believe the issue is related to: Httpd: DNS 8.8.8.8 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com

 

20**Personal info** 19:05:09 [5] DHCPD: Recv REQUEST from 10:6F:D9:39:B4:4F
20**Personal info** 19:05:09 [5] DHCPD: Send ACK to 192.168.1.102
20**Personal info** 19:05:26 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.3 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:05:31 [6] Httpd: DNS 8.8.8.8 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:05:38 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.3 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:05:43 [6] Httpd: DNS 8.8.8.8 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:05:51 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.3 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:05:56 [6] Httpd: DNS 8.8.8.8 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:06:04 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.3 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:06:04 [6] 4G: USER: Start disconnecting from the network!

20**Personal info** 19:06:04 [6] 4G: USER: Disconnected from the network!

20**Personal info** 19:06:05 [6] 4G: USER: Get user's profile now.

20**Personal info** 19:06:05 [6] 4G: USER: GetCurrProf result is: ipver:0 staticApn:0 authType:1 pkgName:O2DataSIM profname:O2DataSIM apn:mobile.o2.co.uk usr:o2web psw:password

20**Personal info** 19:06:05 [6] 4G: USER: Start connecting to the network!

20**Personal info** 19:06:05 [6] 4G: USER: Get user's profile now.

20**Personal info** 19:06:05 [6] 4G: USER: GetCurrProf result is: ipver:0 staticApn:0 authType:1 pkgName:O2DataSIM profname:O2DataSIM apn:mobile.o2.co.uk usr:o2web psw:password

20**Personal info** 19:06:05 [6] 4G: USER: Connected to the network!

20**Personal info** 19:06:05 [6] 4G: ERROR: 0x00000047 QMI_ERR_INVALID_QMI_CMD

20**Personal info** 19:06:09 [6] Httpd: DNS 8.8.8.8 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:06:11 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.3 resolve succeed for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:06:11 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.3 resolve succeed for www.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:06:16 [5] 4G: network selection mode is manual, (mcc,mnc):(234,10), isp:o2-PAYG
20**Personal info** 19:06:20 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.2 resolve succeed for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:06:20 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.2 resolve succeed for www.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:33:15 [6] System: User(Mac:10:6F:D9:39:B4:4F;IP:192.168.1.102) logs in.
20**Personal info** 19:33:21 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.2 resolve succeed for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:33:21 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.2 resolve succeed for www.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:33:27 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.2 resolve succeed for dns.msftncsi.com
20**Personal info** 19:33:27 [6] Httpd: DNS 82.132.254.2 resolve succeed for www.msftncsi.com

 

Help!

Message 1 of 10
858 Views
9 REPLIES 9

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 142343 Posts
  • 629 Topics
  • 27310 Solutions
Registered:

@Dazza3 

Android aon will get you connected https://community.o2.co.uk/t5/Android-Devices-Samsung-HTC-Sony/Connecting-Android-Phone-to-Data-Serv...

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
Pixel 7a (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 12 Pro Max (EE & Vodafone)
Message 2 of 10
844 Views

Dazza3
Level 1: Joiner
  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions
Registered:

I have set-up the profile exactly as stated on that post. Tries both mobile.o2.co.uk and payandgo.o2.uk.

Strangely have been connected without glitch for the past year, but 2 weeks ago, this issue appeared. (Thought it was due to my virgin media sim, ported to O2, so shelled out for dedicated O2 sim and same issue. The weird thing is it works fine in a mobile....

I may need to try a different brand of router. This is getting expensive.

Message 3 of 10
835 Views

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 142343 Posts
  • 629 Topics
  • 27310 Solutions
Registered:

This is a data only sim @Dazza3 ?

O2 don't allow phone sims and I'm not aware of any unlimited data sims.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
Pixel 7a (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 12 Pro Max (EE & Vodafone)
Message 4 of 10
827 Views

Dazza3
Level 1: Joiner
  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions
Registered:

Yes. As per the post title. An O2 unlimited data only sim for use in a device

Message 5 of 10
799 Views

jonsie
Level 94: Supreme
  • 92518 Posts
  • 607 Topics
  • 6874 Solutions
Registered:

madasaf1sh
Level 76: Forum Legend
  • 9604 Posts
  • 51 Topics
  • 2947 Solutions
Registered:

@Dazza3 


Have you done any software updates at all to the TP-Link Archer device, as the error seems to be related to an old OpenWRT bug

 

4G: ERROR: 0x00000047 QMI_ERR_INVALID_QMI_CMD

 

This isnt an o2 error but and error with the Router not sending the correct commands to connect, hence the INVALID_CMD error. 

Added to the fact that it is failing across multiple DNS providers.

It might be worth posting to the TP Link community or speaking to TP Link Support

--
This is a customer to customer forum, and there is no o2 support on here, and we do not have access to any personal or account information,

We are all customers like you and I don't work for o2,
Message 7 of 10
790 Views

JKspecial22
Level 1: Joiner
  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Topics
  • 0 Solutions
Registered:

I’ve had this exact same issue with my archer mr200 router and o2 sim. Was working fine then about 2 weeks ago the internet kept dropping. If I change a setting on the router, such as from 4g only to 4g preferred, the internet returns for ~10 mins then drops out again. Interestingly a tried a Vodafone sim for a few days in the router with no issues. A replacement o2 sim didn’t fix the issue. Dazza, have you found a solution to this? 

Message 8 of 10
704 Views

madasaf1sh
Level 76: Forum Legend
  • 9604 Posts
  • 51 Topics
  • 2947 Solutions
Registered:

@JKspecial22 

 

Have you spoken to TP Link at all, as they might now of an update that has broken something..  It wouldn't be the first time... 

 

Can you post the devices config/settings

What happens if you use the o2 data sim in a phone?

--
This is a customer to customer forum, and there is no o2 support on here, and we do not have access to any personal or account information,

We are all customers like you and I don't work for o2,
Message 9 of 10
692 Views

JKspecial22
  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Topics
  • 0 Solutions
Registered:

I haven’t contacted tp link, but I’ll follow up with them. I’ll also post router settings once I’m at my laptop. 

Yes the sim appears to work fine in a phone. Interestingly there was a confirmed O2 network issue about 2 weeks ago (now repaired) which appeared to trigger this issue with my 4g internet dropping out. Coincidence? 

Message 10 of 10
680 Views