Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Pay Monthly

Reply
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-08-2018
Accepted Solution

Using phone abroad

I'm in America, have the inclusive travel bolt on so I can use my phone pretty much the same as back home. Except 2 days ago I received a text saying I'd reached my £48 data cap limit. I've contacted o2 on 2 occasions and they've said to ignore as there's no charges on my account. BUT I cannot get my data to work, even with the magic turn off and on again. Please help!!
Highlighted
Posts: 89,788
Topics: 745
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Using phone abroad

[ Edited ]

Hi @Nicey83

You are the 2nd person this week to complain about data problems in the US even though you have Travel Inclusive.

You have to persevere with CS I'm afraid. Remind them there is NO data cap with Travel Inclusive

"You’ll get a daily allowance of 120 minutes and 120 texts, and data,  when you roam in our O2 Travel Inclusive Zone. There’s no cap on data, but we’ll manage traffic and may need to slow down speeds depending on usage, and all allowances are subject to our Fair Usage policy. Calls and texts to premium rate numbers and other special numbers are not included."    

https://www.o2.co.uk/international/travel-inclusive-zone       

For info the Fair usage policy is here  https://www.o2.co.uk/termsandconditions/mobile/o2-consumer-fair-usage-policy

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Posts: 104,093
Topics: 552
Solutions: 13,447
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Using phone abroad

@Martin-O2 @EmilieT @Marjo another one !
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Posts: 89,788
Topics: 745
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Using phone abroad

Since my response, this has now become the THIRD person this week in the US with this problem!!

Obviously happening to many more who have not posted on the forum. What a disaster O2 Travel Inclusive is turning out to be!!

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Level 31: Resolver
Posts: 1,371
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Using phone abroad

What network is everyone trying to roam on in the USA, and where abouts in the US are you? 

 

Has anyone tried switching networks to At&T or T-Mobile?? 

Current Phone: Galaxy Fold - o2 5G
I also have a Planet Computers Gemini

I work in IT as an Enterprise Messaging and Collaboration Tools Administrator (Office 365, Slack and much much more) and manage hardware both Mobile and Desktop / laptop, my desk is a bit like PC World

--
We are all customers and dont have access to any o2 accounts
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-08-2018

Re: Using phone abroad

Thank You! I contacted guru again!! 3rd time!! This person straight away said there was a data cap in place which he has removed. I should be back to normal services within 24hrs
Highlighted
Posts: 89,788
Topics: 745
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Using phone abroad

@Nicey83Best of luck. I hope this removal lasts for the remainder of your holiday.

Keep rebooting your phone to allow the data cap removal to work asap.

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎17-08-2018

Re: Using phone abroad

@Cleoriff Thanks for the tips. Much appreciated.
Highlighted
Level 68: Extraordinaire
Posts: 15,596
Registered: ‎31-03-2010

Re: Using phone abroad

@madasaf1sh FYI, AT&T and T-Mobile are the only networks in the US O2 customers can roam on. Verizon and Sprint are incompatible with GSM phones.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2



Funniest-Thread-2
Highlighted
Level 31: Resolver
Posts: 1,371
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Using phone abroad

Yes i meant to say between AT&T and T-Mobile, there also quite a few smaller regional networks that use GSM, but you cant usualy roam on to them
Current Phone: Galaxy Fold - o2 5G
I also have a Planet Computers Gemini

I work in IT as an Enterprise Messaging and Collaboration Tools Administrator (Office 365, Slack and much much more) and manage hardware both Mobile and Desktop / laptop, my desk is a bit like PC World

--
We are all customers and dont have access to any o2 accounts