Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Roaming in italy (Puglia) not working on - Iphone5

StuartJSR
Level 1: Joiner
  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

Hi, I am a recent O2 customer and using an IPhone5 - just plain "5".
I have a data allowance but was never able to utilise it in Italy.
I am now back in England, but whilst in Italy and when NOT using wifi connections my Internet connectivity never worked (I wanted it specifically for Safari, Google Maps and the Translate applications).
I did try to do a "Network Reset" as a final hope as was suggested in some posts I read, but this did not change anything.
I am a novice but just wanted it all to work seemlessly but it did not.
The message I got back when trying these functions via "roaming", with mobile data enabled  and having seelected a 3G option for voice and data was -"roughly" - "not connected to a data network"
Txt and calls worked ok, but never the internet connectivity required..
The functions did work via wifi options in my hotels.
ANY IDEAS PLEASE 

Message 1 of 8
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 143438 Posts
  • 632 Topics
  • 27490 Solutions

@StuartJSR 

As long as you have the idata bolt on you just use the idata apn everywhere. 
For help on MMS see thread here Guide: Accidental MMS Sending and How to Avoid it 

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
Pixel 7a (O2 & Lyca), One Plus 6 (Sfr), iPhone 12 Pro Max (Vodafone)

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 8
7 REPLIES 7

Cleoriff
  • 122366 Posts
  • 824 Topics
  • 7457 Solutions

Hi @StuartJSR 

You probably have the wrong data bolt on for abroad as you have an iPhone.

Before you go abroad again you need to call customer services and ask them to enable data for iPhone.