Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's
Reply
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-11-2018
Accepted Solution

NO SERVICE

ive recently got the new iphone xr - i’ve tried setting it up but it keeps coming up no service. ive tried the manually keying in, ive tried resetting, ive tried turning aeroplane mode on n off but still nothing.. HELP
Highlighted
Posts: 16,411
Topics: 294
Kudos: 1,848
Ideas: 6
Solutions: 1,312
Registered: ‎13-08-2008

Re: NO SERVICE

Is it a new SIM card or an old one ?
iPhone 11 Pro 256gb on unlimited data
iPad Pro 11” 2018 256gb refresh o2 family discount
Apple Watch series 4
My first mobile was in 1995 a CM-R111 from sony on Cellnet.
Henstridge Rural South Somerset (Full 4g 3G 2g indoor coverage) Remember we are all customers here not customer services

Highlighted
Posts: 84,896
Topics: 716
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: NO SERVICE

[ Edited ]

@Rach7

Some troubleshooting tips here for a No Service error message

Includes checking service status, updating carrier settings, checking sim etc

https://www.ikream.com/2018/11/how-to-fix-no-service-error-on-apple-iphone-xr-calling-and-texting-se...

You could remove your sim and reinsert it.

 

Edited to add this handy video from O2

https://community.o2.co.uk/t5/Discussions-and-Feedback/O2-Guide-to-Network-Issues/m-p/1158158#M10320...

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Posts: 98,968
Topics: 546
Solutions: 12,479
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: NO SERVICE

@Rach7 check your SIM is activated https://www.o2.co.uk/help/phones-sims-and-devices/activating-your-sim

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Level 13: Prompter
Posts: 936
Registered: ‎22-01-2014

Re: NO SERVICE

@Rach7 have you got this resolved now? Call customer services if not to check your sim/acccount as above.