cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving to a location where coverage is poor

Anonymous
Not applicable

So I'm moving to a location where the coverage maps show that O2 coverage is not very good and my past experience having been visiting said location for 2 years would suggest the same. 

I spoke to someone on chat earlier to see what I can do as I still have a year to go on my contract and all they would keep telling me was that a mast was down and being fixed as we spoke (I tried explaining the coverage map shows only 2G in the area!) but she was adament this would resolve the problem when the mast was back up! and wouldn't listen to my question of what I can do about my contract!

So I called, and got someone else who I explained my issue with again and was told yep, there was a mast down in the area and was being fixed as we spoke! again I said I had been visiting for 2 years and the coverage issue was the same so I didn't think a mast that wasn't working currently was the issue I had and the coverage map only showed 2G! 

My question remains unanswered really! so given I'm on pay monthly and have a year left on my contract, if I pay off my device plan can I just walk away? the person I spoke to on the phone said yes, but I'm not sure that it will only cost me the price of the phone? I just don't trust the answers I'm getting because I don't think they are listening properly and just sticking to a script in front of them (no offence intended) does anyone know? I know the mast is not the issue as nobody in the area neighbour wise is on O2 purely for the fact that signal is so poor! thanks

Message 1 of 6
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 144214 Posts
  • 634 Topics
  • 27635 Solutions

If you are on refresh you can pay off the device plan and cancel the airtime for free by giving 30 days notice.

https://community.o2.co.uk/t5/How-to-Guides/How-does-O2-Refresh-work/ba-p/1014093