Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Pay Monthly

Reply
Highlighted
Posts: 105,929
Topics: 554
Solutions: 13,949
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Is VoLTE working now?

Who was that aimed at jonsie?
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Posts: 80,690
Topics: 574
Solutions: 3,895
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: Is VoLTE working now?

Highlighted
Posts: 105,929
Topics: 554
Solutions: 13,949
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Is VoLTE working now?

OK Smiley Happy
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Posts: 80,690
Topics: 574
Solutions: 3,895
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: Is VoLTE working now?

Highlighted
Posts: 105,929
Topics: 554
Solutions: 13,949
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Is VoLTE working now?

Trying to understand and help can be difficult at times, but we do our best.
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Posts: 80,690
Topics: 574
Solutions: 3,895
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: Is VoLTE working now?


@MI5 wrote:
Trying to understand and help can be difficult at times, but we do our best.

But some people try to show they are more technically advanced by posting incomprehensible comments. 

Highlighted
Posts: 14,195
Topics: 271
Kudos: 471
Solutions: 4
Registered: ‎11-01-2014

Re: Is VoLTE working now?


@MI5 wrote:

@Cleoriff wrote:

@MI5 wrote:
Eh?

Fantastic (giggling you see)


Well, posted agreeing with me then said I was wrong? 

I'm lost Confused


*smirking* Good Idea

*possum si vollo* *per ardua ad astra*



I don't work for O2
Xperia L1 - The Android Army Marches Onwards
Acer Aspire 5750 laptop
Unlimited Sky Broadband
MI6 - Commander Jane TOP SECRET - Status 00 Licensed To Type - HER MAJESTY'S SECRET SERVICE + pic of a very young Lois Maxwell (have mug to prove it) - Promotion tbc to Data Entry
Highlighted
Posts: 14,195
Topics: 271
Kudos: 471
Solutions: 4
Registered: ‎11-01-2014

Re: Is VoLTE working now?

Ah... The Old Arduous Circumstances Strikes Again Hug

*possum si vollo* *per ardua ad astra*



I don't work for O2
Xperia L1 - The Android Army Marches Onwards
Acer Aspire 5750 laptop
Unlimited Sky Broadband
MI6 - Commander Jane TOP SECRET - Status 00 Licensed To Type - HER MAJESTY'S SECRET SERVICE + pic of a very young Lois Maxwell (have mug to prove it) - Promotion tbc to Data Entry
Highlighted
Posts: 13,377
Topics: 83
Registered: ‎14-01-2014

Re: Is VoLTE working now?


@evantkh wrote:

@MI5

I think you are wrong.

VoWiFi is effectively establishing a tunnel to the IMS network which is the one for VoLTE calls, not sure if Apple is using the GSMA specification for VoWiFi.


How is he wrong?

TuGo is a WiFi based solution utilising and routed via the open Internet, completely different to volte and VoWiFi which are routed through the IMS network.

TuGo uses a login system, whilst volte and VoWiFi use sim based authentication.

His CORRECT point is, that whilst O2 have tuGo to provide a "WiFi based" calling solution, it is not the full service as set down for VoWiFi by GSMA standards.

However as VoWiFi is a service that is complimentary to VoLTE, you are not gonna see baked in WiFi features unless O2 activate it. With the constant updates to tuGo, you have to wonder if they are really in a rush to add it.




Highlighted
Level 6: Acolyte
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: Is VoLTE working now?

@viridis

However, standard VoWifi allows switching between VoLTE and VoWifi without droping tha call, but not on TU Go.