Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Excessive unexplained data usage

Linda52
Level 1: Joiner
  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions
I've been using a Huawei mobile WiFi device for about 5 months and my average usage has been just over 1GB of data. This month it's used the 6GB but I've barely used it and even then it was for emails, a bit of Google and some time on fb. I purchased 2GBs yesterday tide me over and it's already down to 1.15 GBs. What's going on?
Message 1 of 9
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Linda52

Hello

Have you added any new devices recently, for example a laptop?

If the laptop is running Windows 10 it maybe an update that has used your data as Microsoft release a cumulative update each month that combines a number of patches which can exceed 1GB in size.

You can pause these for a number of days by typing update into the Cortana search, click Windows Update Settings, then Advanced options, pause updates.

You can set the amount of time you want to pause them but as they tend to include security patches I would recommend installing them as soon as you can.

You should also let Windows know the connection is metered by following the instructions here https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/4028458/windows-metered-connections-in-windows-10

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 9
8 REPLIES 8

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122362 Posts
  • 824 Topics
  • 7457 Solutions

Hi @Linda52

There have been a few people complaining about supposed excessive data use this past few weeks. You may want to ring customer services and check this out https://www.o2.co.uk/contactus

Edited to ask if the data usage matches up in My O2 and what the device states?

Veritas Numquam Perit

Girl in a jacket
Message 2 of 9

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 143429 Posts
  • 632 Topics
  • 27490 Solutions
Has someone else logged onto the hotspot?
First thing I'd do is change the password.