Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Denied a contract

Samstew101
Level 1: Joiner
  • 1 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

I am currently a university student. I have never had a credit card, yet i have a debit card. I applied for a pay monthly iPhone 7 via 'Mobile Phones Direct'. Unfortunately this application was declined. However, i was unnaware that having a credit score would even be an issue. This, i'm assuming, has now gone down as a failed credit check on my credit history. Is there any way to reverse this and be able to get the phone i orginally wanted - this clearly feels like an unecessary punishment for someone who was merely uninformed.

Message 1 of 6
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Bambino
Level 84: Resplendent
  • 22942 Posts
  • 1022 Topics
  • 3662 Solutions

@Samstew101 To get a contract with any phone provider will initiate a credit check. If you have no credit card, you would have no credit history, so I'm unsure as to whether it will go on your record. You'd have to contact the credit check company for that. Try contacting Experian. https://www.experian.co.uk/ In any event, I don't think you will be able to get the phone you want on contract at present.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2

Funniest-Thread-2

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 6
5 REPLIES 5

Bambino
Level 84: Resplendent
  • 22942 Posts
  • 1022 Topics
  • 3662 Solutions

@Samstew101 To get a contract with any phone provider will initiate a credit check. If you have no credit card, you would have no credit history, so I'm unsure as to whether it will go on your record. You'd have to contact the credit check company for that. Try contacting Experian. https://www.experian.co.uk/ In any event, I don't think you will be able to get the phone you want on contract at present.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2

Funniest-Thread-2
Message 2 of 6

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122362 Posts
  • 824 Topics
  • 7457 Solutions