Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Pay Monthly

Reply
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-06-2018

Data not activated after port.........

[ Edited ]


I've just signed up for new service provider and ported my old number to the new sim. The number got transfered fine and I can make calls but there is no data activated. I can turn on the wifi but no data connection. It's been six days without any data.

 

My phone is HTC One A9.

I've tried following so far....

Turning phone on and off (lol, multiple times).

Settings > Bachup & Reset > Network setting reset.

Remowing the sim and giving it a clean and replacing it.

 

 

 

port.jpg

Highlighted
Level 68: Extraordinaire
Posts: 15,596
Registered: ‎31-03-2010

Re: Data not activated after port.........

@magicshaw You'll need to speak to customer service. https://www.o2.co.uk/contactus We always suggest calling rather than using Live Chat.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2



Funniest-Thread-2
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-06-2018

Re: Data not activated after port.........

 

@Bambino

 

Thanks, will do.

 

 

Highlighted
Posts: 80,554
Topics: 573
Solutions: 3,881
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: Data not activated after port.........

It may be that you have the in correct phone settings or data bolt on. Try texting ACTIVE to 2020 and save the settings. Reboot the phone after. 

Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-06-2018

Re: Data not activated after port.........

 

@jonsie

 

I tried texting and there was auto reply saying

 

"Unfortunatly we had problems dealing with your request for settings"

 

This is getting frustrating and complicated than I first thought. I'm not a techy guy.

 

 

Highlighted
Level 68: Extraordinaire
Posts: 15,596
Registered: ‎31-03-2010

Re: Data not activated after port.........

@magicshaw As I suggested earlier, call customer service and they will talk you through it, or better yet, if you have an O2 store nearby, call in and they should be able to help you with the setup.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2



Funniest-Thread-2
Highlighted
Posts: 89,790
Topics: 745
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Data not activated after port.........


@magicshaw wrote:

 

@jonsie

 

I tried texting and there was auto reply saying

 

"Unfortunatly we had problems dealing with your request for settings"

 

This is getting frustrating and complicated than I first thought. I'm not a techy guy.

 

 


@magicshawHave a look at these data settings for Android phones. If they are wrong you can change them manually https://www.teamknowhow.com/discover/discover/o2-apn-settings#Android%20APN%20settings%20for%20O2

If they are the same, then you need to speak to customer services from the link given above

 

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-06-2018

Re: Data not activated after port.........

Just gave CS a call who transfered me to a "guru" who walked me thru a mannual selling which I had tried three times before.

 

Fair to say it didn't work and I'm still without data connection Smiley Sad

 

 

Highlighted
Posts: 104,094
Topics: 552
Solutions: 13,447
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Data not activated after port.........

It sounds to me like they have put you on a Blackberry data bolt on.
Have any of these so called "gurus" actually checked your account settings on the O2 system?
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Highlighted
Posts: 80,554
Topics: 573
Solutions: 3,881
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: Data not activated after port.........

If you have the correct settings here and the apn iset to active then maybe it's a faulty sim card. I would suggest tat you get it replaced instore. If possible, can you try the sim in another phone?