Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Pay Monthly

Reply
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2017

Calling from abroad

Hello, I'm currently abroad, using O2 travel in Europe and I can use my data but calls and texts won't send and calls hang up after dialling. Am I doing something wrong?
Highlighted
Posts: 91,011
Topics: 747
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Calling from abroad

[ Edited ]

Hi @Parkie2301 Are you calling and texting using contacts from your phonebook/contacts list? Or are you manually dialling?. You need to make sure any call to UK is preceded with +44

Edited to ask whereabouts abroad are you?

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2017

Re: Calling from abroad

Yeah, doesn't work either manual or from contacts, using +44 already just won't work, my mum's phone works (Samsung) but my iPhone won't and nor will my dad's iPhone
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2017

Re: Calling from abroad

I'm in Malta trying to call UK
Highlighted
Posts: 91,011
Topics: 747
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Calling from abroad

[ Edited ]

@Parkie2301You may want to call customer services to check you have the correct bolt on applied

Also that there is no roaming bar on your account. It's a long shot as you say your data is working but worth a call https://www.o2.co.uk/contactus

You could also try a manual search for another network.

It looks like the wrong bolt on as you say two iPhones don't work but the Samsung does...

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-05-2017

Re: Calling from abroad

It's well weird isn't it?? I work for O2 and set them all up so shouldn't be any bars and that on the accounts just confused as to why it isn't working. I set the iPhone and Samsung simos up at the same time too so they should be exactly the same! Could it be a phone setting do you recon?
Highlighted
Posts: 91,011
Topics: 747
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Calling from abroad

Check both iPhone APN's. If they have iData applied try changing it to mobile.o2.co.uk

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Level 33: Firestarter
Posts: 1,506
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Calling from abroad

[ Edited ]

Its not a bolton if Calls and SMS.

 

If Data is working as you say but no calls or texts, then that to me sounds like a local issue with one of the Maltese networks.

 

Have you tried switching networks to either Go, Vodafone or Melita? 

Current Phone: Galaxy Fold - o2 5G
I also have a Planet Computers Gemini

I work in IT as an Enterprise Messaging and Collaboration Tools Administrator (Office 365, Slack and much much more) and manage hardware both Mobile and Desktop / laptop, my desk is a bit like PC World

--
We are all customers and dont have access to any o2 accounts
Highlighted
Posts: 91,011
Topics: 747
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Calling from abroad

Not affecting the family member with a Samsung though? That is working perfectly. Just the two iPhones

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Highlighted
Posts: 105,888
Topics: 554
Solutions: 13,945
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Calling from abroad

Are all phones connected to the same network?
I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)