Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Other Products and Services

Reply
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Buying new time: remaining time deleted?

Over the net I've just bought 3GB for my mobile broadband. I did that because I was told I had only 103MB left (and 10 days) of my old allowance remaining. However, when I look to see the time I have left now, after the purchase, it's only 3GB, not the 3.1GB you might expect. Is this normal? Should we therefore always use up the old allowance before buying any more? TIA
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Buying new time: remaining time deleted?

fraid so.....same happened to me, had 250mb left and it said "you are running low want to top-up" and when I( did I lost the 250mb that was left.

really they should warn you that this will happen as the wording on the main site makes u believe that it will be added when it's not.
Posts: 27,019
Topics: 247
Solutions: 1,614
Registered: ‎29-07-2008

Buying new time: remaining time deleted?

That doesn't sound right, have you queried this with O2?
To support Disasters Emergency Committee: http://www.dec.org.uk/appeals text Nepal to 70000 to send £5

Sky Unlimited Broadband - Windows 10 - Nexus 4 Android 5.1.1
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Buying new time: remaining time deleted?

I did try clicking on the 'contact us' link, but I get only a blank page. The link is at: http://www.o2.co.uk/broadband/mobile/
Posts: 27,019
Topics: 247
Solutions: 1,614
Registered: ‎29-07-2008

Buying new time: remaining time deleted?

Contact us at the bottom of the page works fine for me.

Try clearing your browser cache first.
To support Disasters Emergency Committee: http://www.dec.org.uk/appeals text Nepal to 70000 to send £5

Sky Unlimited Broadband - Windows 10 - Nexus 4 Android 5.1.1
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Buying new time: remaining time deleted?

Clearing the browser (in both Firefox and IE) didn't help in the short run but, for some reason, I was able to click on the link and contact O2 a couple of days ago, and they replied within 24 hours. They confirmed what I suspected:
After you've made a purchase, all remaining data is taken off the account.
The advice, then, is to use up all remaining data before buying more data. This is contrary to the usual practice when topping up ordinary mobile phones. I think O2 should include a warning to that effect, and will suggest so in my reply to them.