Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Talk Talk Stolen Data

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122356 Posts
  • 824 Topics
  • 7457 Solutions

Talk Talk have admitted that some customers accounts have been 'hacked'.

The information stolen included names, addresses, phone numbers and TalkTalk account numbers. The company was confident that no sensitive or payment data went astray in the hack.

The theft of data was unearthed when TalkTalk investigated a sudden rise in complaints from customers about scam calls between October and December 2014  'Only a few thousand accounts were affected'!!

It made interesting reading to see Talk Talk admitting that the attackers got at some of TalkTalk's internal systems via a third-party that also had access to its network. Legal action is now being taken against this unnamed third party.

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-31656613

I am no expert....but does this ring warning bells with anyone? slight_frown

Veritas Numquam Perit

Girl in a jacket
Message 1 of 51
50 REPLIES 50

Anonymous
Not applicable

Gerry wrote:

What I am not entirely clear about is what customers/users like me can actually do about it in our everyday interactions with the digital world, apart from withdrawing our custom from "guilty" companies.  Of course we can ensure we have some anti-virus/malware/firewall precautions in place, but how do we know we can trust them?

Sadly, you can't trust any technical measure on it's own to protect you 100%.  Anybody who tells you otherwise is misleading you.