Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's
Reply
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎18-01-2021
Accepted Solution

Signal

Hi, have switched to o2 due to previous network issues. Internet comparison for postcode said o2 would be the best but me and husband (on ee) have to stand by a certain window to make and receive calls. I want a signal booster so that I don’t have to switch again and husband can join o2 but they’re £180.
Level 43: Bright Spark
Posts: 2,648
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Signal

@KRob

O2 Signal boosters are only available to qualifying Business customers, they are not available to consumers.

If you are on Pay Monthly, have you tried using WiFi calling which uses wifi to allow calling?

I would check the o2 status page or the My Network app to check if there are any issues in the local area.

I would always recommend getting a free PAYG sim from all of the networks before switching so you can check the network coverage as coverage maps dont go into house level details.
Current Phone: Motorola Razr 5g
I also have a Planet Computers Gemini

I work in IT as an Enterprise Messaging and Collaboration Tools Administrator (Office 365, Slack and much much more) and manage hardware both Mobile and Desktop / laptop, my desk is a bit like PC World

--
We are all customers and dont have access to any o2 accounts
Highlighted
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎18-01-2021

Re: Signal

Hi

Yes I’ve got a pay monthly rolling sim to see if it works but I may switch. Boosters are being sold second hand on eBay, could I buy one to use as It says o2 need to be called to set it up? I need my phone to work from home so signal is really important.

I have WiFi calling set up but I don’t know if it will allow me to call students for tutorials etc and withhold my number as I don’t number shared?

Thanks
Posts: 117,727
Topics: 577
Solutions: 16,563
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Signal

@KRob 

O2 won't connect your number to a boostbox unless you are on a business contract.

Withholding your numbers works the same over a wifi call as it does over the network normally.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)
Level 1: Joiner
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎18-01-2021

Re: Signal

Ah ok both good to know. Thanks all!

Will my phone connect automatically if my signal is bad or do I select an option? (Last question I promise) thanks again.
Posts: 117,727
Topics: 577
Solutions: 16,563
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Signal

@KRob 

Just set "wifi priority" in the wifi calling settings and it will use wifi whenever you are connected to a wifi signal.

I have no affiliation whatsoever with O2 or any subsidiary companies. Comments posted are entirely of my own opinion. This is not Customer Service so we are unable to help with account specific issues.

Currently using:
OnePlus 6 (O2 & Sfr), Z3 Tablet (Three UK), iPhone 8+ (EE)