cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

O2 didn't let me buy a new phone online but took my money...

Anonymous
Not applicable
Yesterday I was very excited, ordering a Blackberry Bold with a pay-monthly package online from O2 Shop. Shortly after sending my request, someone called me and told me I needed to go through an ID check. She asked some questions (my mother's maiden name, date of birth, etc.) Then asked either my passport or UK driving licence number. I told her I didn't have either, 'cause I don't drive and I DON'T NEED a passport being an EU citizen with a fully valid EU ID. She said she couldn't accept my EU ID as a proof of identification! Is this legal? As far as I know, UK's been a member of EU for some time now... I've been living and working and been a faithful O2 pay&go customer in London UK for about a year now. (I'm a music teacher working in a public London school.) So, long story short, she said she had to cancel my order. OK, I thought I'd go and make a contract with another carrier, but when I accidentally checked my bank account, I realized that O2 took the price of the phone from my account! Obviously I got a bit disappointed and called them. They said it's gonna take about a week to give me a "refund" and if I didn't get the money back until next Friday, I should call them again... So, is this fair, or legal? I think not.
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7

Anonymous
Not applicable
OK, but there is EU law as well... It's just strange that all the authorities accept my EU ID without question, and I could get a job with it, but it's not enough for an O2 customer identification. Furthermore I've been their customer, paying money for them regularly for about year now... But anyway, my biggest problem that they took my money for nothing and they will use it for about a week, and I'm sure they won't pay any interest for it. That still wouldn't be fair even if I was a man from the Moon...
Message 2 of 8

Anonymous
Not applicable