Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

O2 deposit

MercedesE320CDi
Level 1: Joiner
  • 10 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions
Hi I've recently took out a contract with O2 and had to pay a deposit as I've been working abroad for a few years, (fair enough).

I was told that the deposit would be refunded back to my bank account after the 3rd payment was successfully made, (which it has).

On speaking to 2 different people at O2 I've received conflicting information, so I'm hoping I can get clarification on here prior to me ringing again.

The 1st agent, explained that a few days after the 3rd payment was received I could call back and arrange for the deposit £125 to be paid back onto the card within 5 to 10 working days, ( again all seems fair and acceptable).

On calling back as instructed to arrange the refund I'm now told I have to wait until the next bill is generated before I can request this.

Can anyone assist with this, the amount isn't a lot however the principal stands and it is my money not O2.

Regards
Message 1 of 27
26 REPLIES 26

gmarkj
Level 66: Unequalled
  • 12067 Posts
  • 94 Topics
  • 1124 Solutions
Previous experience has shown that after the 3rd bill has been paid (and your account shows a £0 balance) you can call and ask for the deposit to be returned.
Some have had this refunded directly, while others have it returned as a credit to their account (meaning no bills to pay for a number of months).
Examples below:
1 - https://community.o2.co.uk/t5/Pay-Monthly/Deposit/td-p/1123825
2 - https://community.o2.co.uk/t5/Pay-Monthly/how-do-i-get-my-deposit-back/td-p/186106
3 - https://community.o2.co.uk/t5/Discussions-and-Feedback/Deposit-Refund/td-p/1050155

Please note, this is not customer services and we cannot access your account. Do not publish personal details (email, phone number, bank account).

Link to our guide on how to contact them can be found here

Message 2 of 27

MI5
Level 94: Supreme
  • 144308 Posts
  • 634 Topics
  • 27660 Solutions