cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie: Like the features but why does O2 email passwords

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am a newbie O2 customer.
I like the possibilities of bluebook, the forum etc.

However. I noticed to my dismay that O2 starts emailing readable paswords all over the place. I think that is very bad practice.

http://www.thebitmill.com/articles/password_email.html and many others agree.

Can something be done about this??????
Message 1 of 25
24 REPLIES 24

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am a newbie O2 customer.
I like the possibilities of bluebook, the forum etc.
However. I noticed to my dismay that O2 starts emailing readable paswords all over the place. . . .

Where do they email passwords "all over the place"? Care to explain what you mean by that ?
Message 2 of 25

Anonymous
Not applicable
a. O2 should not be emailing any passwords, you should be abl to reset passwords, not send them.
b. If you register: a. your phone, b. for bleubook c. for forum you get, at least, three emails with readable passwords. This is bad practice & not in the interest of your customers.

Where do they email passwords "all over the place"? Care to explain what you mean by that ?
Message 3 of 25

Anonymous
Not applicable
a. O2 should not be emailing any passwords, you should be abl to reset passwords, not send them.
b. If you register: a. your phone, b. for bleubook c. for forum you get, at least, three emails with readable passwords. This is bad practice & not in the interest of your customers.

They're not my customers, we are all O2 customers.
What you say would be true if further identity/security details were not asked for. eg. When you register for a Pay as You Go online account a verification code is sent to the handset.